Distance Learning

Online Distance Learning Courses

Diploma in Medical Laboratory Science [DipMLS (PPTC)] 2024 – 2025

Online Distance Learning Programme 

Structure of the course

The PPTC Diploma consists of 6 modules in the laboratory sciences and these are as follows:

  1. Laboratory Technology
  2. Biochemistry
  3. Haematology
  4. Microbiology
  5. Transfusion Science
  6. Laboratory Quality Management System

Each module is divided into six sections to cover the basic principles and theory of that laboratory science with an emphasis on the ‘how and why’ and the importance and relevance of accurate and reliable laboratory testing in both the initial diagnosis of disease and the monitoring of treatment.

At the end of each section, there is a series of multi-choice questions which must be completed and returned to the PPTC for marking. There is also an associated log book with each module (except Laboratory Technology and Laboratory Quality Management System) which the student must complete.

The content of each logbook is based on routine procedures currently employed within each discipline and as each log book task is completed, signoff by the charge technician or head of department is required until the logbook is fully completed.

Each logbook not only details the practical tasks to be carried out but also contains a comprehensive theory section associated with each procedure and therefore acts as an information resource once completed by the student. Each logbook will be returned to the student once completed and marked by the PPTC so as it can be used by the student as a reference.

On successful completion of each module which includes theory and practical requirements, successful students are awarded a certificate of achievement in the discipline studied.

There is an examination-based assessment for the DipMLS programme. The examination is divided into two parts, part 1 covering the theoretical contents from the first three modules namely Lab Technology, Haematology, and Biochemistry.

Part 2 covers the theoretical contents from the second-year modules; Microbiology, Transfusion Science and Laboratory Quality Management Systems, and will be held in 2023. The examination booklets for part 1 and part 2 will be presented to students by the charge technician in the respective laboratories. The charge technicians will be expected to supervise these exams at the end of the respective year. These examinations will be conducted in the strictest examination environment.

Students who successfully complete all six [6] modules and the respective end of the year examinations will be awarded a Diploma in Medical Laboratory Science granted by the PPTC.

The Diploma course is delivered over a two-year period to students who have registered for the programme.

The 2024 – 2025 Diploma cycle commenced in April 2024, as per the schedule below.  

Diploma Dates 2024

2024 Modules:

  • Laboratory Technology: 1st April- 7th June 2024
  • Haematology: 10th June – 16th August 2024
  • Biochemistry: 19th August – 25th October 2024
  • Part 1 Examinations: Wednesday 6th December 2024

2022 Modules:

  • Will be rolled out soon!

The course is funded by the New Zealand Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade and is provided at no cost to eligible students.  The application for the 2024 – 2025 cycle is now closed and the next cycle will begin in 2026.

Current Module being delivered - 2024-2025 Diploma Cycle                   

For further information contact: Russell Cole, Programme Manager, PPTC, PO Box 7013 Wellington, New Zealand Telephone: 64 4 389 6294 Email: russellc@pptc.org.nz